≡ Menu

How Close Were The 3 Timers To Winning 4 And How These Guys Are Connected: Bart Chelesvig, Tanner Weatherman, Andrew Long, Chase Shiltz

Bart Chelesvig was the son of Tom Chelesvig, who was a state champ himself a couple decades earlier. Bart won state in 1985, 1986 and 1987. It is thought that he only gave up 4 offensive points total in his entire 1985 season. He went on to wrestle for the Hawkeyes and was an AA for them.

The only year he did not win it was his Freshman year in 1984. I don’t know what happened that year, but it appears he didn’t place.

In 1985, the guy he beat in the finals was Tim Weatherman from Ballard. Tim had a son who would win 3 state championships of his own in 2009-2011. His name was Tanner Weatherman.


Tanner Weatherman from Ballard won state 3 times in 2009, 2010 and 2011.  He finished with a record of 173-9. He wrestled for Iowa State in college and was a 4X National qualifier for them.

The only year he didn’t win state was his Freshman year when he took 2nd at 2A 125 to 3X State champion, Andrew Long of Creston.

Andrew Long of Creston was a 3 time Iowa HS State Champion in 2006-2008. He compiled a record of 175-13 in high school and was a Junior Greco and Freestyle National Champion. He was a runner-up at the NCAA D1 Championships in college for the Cyclones. He also wrestled for Penn State and Grand View. The only year he did not win state was his Freshman season in 2005. He placed 8th at 103 lbs.

Andrew was Creston’s first 3X State Champ and since then they have added a 4Xer (Jake Marlin) and another 3Xer named Chase Shiltz.


Chase Shiltz getting his picture taken with fellow Iowa HS 3X State champ, Dan Gable

Chase Shiltz won state championships for Creston in 2015-2017. He finished with a career record of 189-7. The only year he did not win it was his Freshman season when he was defeated in the state finals by Zach Skopec by a score of 5-2. Shiltz chose to play football in college for North Dakota State University.

Chase’s father is a man named John Shiltz. I don’t know if it’s him or not, but in 1987, a wrestler named John Shiltz from Sioux City East placed 4th at 3A 167… The wrestler to win that bracket was none other than Bart Chelesvig.

3A 167

1. Bart Chelesvig, Sr., Webster City
2. Steve Sparbel, Sr., Muscatine
3. Wade Lamont, Sr., Eldridge-North Scott
4. John Shiltz, Sr., Sioux City East
5. Tim Lewis, Sr., Oskaloosa
6. Greg Fitzharris, Sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy


{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)