≡ Menu

How Close Were The 3Xers To Winning 4?!?! Cliff Moore, Eric Ehlen, Johnny Galloway, Doug Miner


Cliff Moore was a standout from his years in youth wrestling. He was a 3X state champion for Dubuque Hempstead in HS and won a D1 national title for the Iowa Hawkeyes in 2004.  In High School he placed 2–1-1-1. In college he was a 3X AA and as mentioned, won a D1 National Title in 2004 at 141 lbs. The only year he did not win state was his Freshman season at 3A 103 lbs. He was defeated by Joe Lucchi from IC High in the finals of that tournament.





Eric Ehlen won state titles for Belle Plaine HS at 1A 103 in 1988 and 1989 as a Sophomore and Junior and solidified his 3rd state title by winning 1A 112 in 1990. The only year he did not win state was in 1987. I do not know what happened, for it does not appear he placed that year, but I am guessing he was undersized. Shane Light from Lisbon won that bracket.




Johnny Galloway won 3 state titles for IC High in 2000, 2001 and 2002. He won 3 pretty loaded brackets that included an array of future D3 All Americans. He won them at 3A 145, 3A 152 and 3A 160. The only year he did not win state was his Freshman year at 3A 135. He placed 4th. David Brown from Le Mars won that bracket. Johnny wrestled for Waterloo East as a Freshman before transferring to IC High as a Sophomore where he began his reign of dominance.




Doug Miner from Spirit Lake Park won state titles at 2A 106 as a Sophomore and Junior and won 2A 120 as a Senior. The only year he did not place at state was his Freshman season in which he placed 7th. Dylan Peters from Denver-Tripoli won that bracket that year.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)